当您的 IP 受到威胁时该怎么办?

如何应对知识产权侵权

我们的国际知识产权律师经常被要求帮助那些知识产权受到损害或侵犯的公司。我们为处理这些国际或国内知识产权问题制定了以下基本清单。

1.确定客户的知识产权问题

这一步有时很简单,但客户从员工/供应商/分销商处获得的信息往往并不准确,原因可能是诚实的错误或自我交易。例如,市场上的优质假货实际上可能是授权供应商的 "超支"。假货实际上可能是灰色市场或二手货。

在决定下一步行动时,获取正确的信息(有时需要专业调查人员的协助)至关重要。

2.确定客户的知识产权目标 

客户的目标在很大程度上决定了所采取的战略。因此,了解什么是期望的、可接受的、可容忍的和不可接受的至关重要。

假设一家中国工厂正在仿冒三个品牌的产品。可能是品牌 A 正在寻找新的供应商,并从仿冒者的工艺中看到了潜力。品牌 A 可能愿意将其知识产权许可给这家工厂。另一方面,品牌 B 可能坚决反对任何妥协,坚持采取积极行动。品牌 C 可能会满足于通过中国海关备案来防止出口,而不太关心在中国发生的事情。在某些情况下,谁是造假者可能会影响所采取的行动(见下文 4)。

毋庸置疑,客户的目标必须切合实际并以事实为依据(见上文 1)。

3.确定并评估有争议的知识产权 

没有知识产权,就没有知识产权索赔。这一点看似显而易见,但我们经常发现自己不得不告诉潜在客户,在他们认为有知识产权的地方,并没有知识产权需要保护。例如,一些来自美国和其他普通法管辖区的客户认为,他们在某个国家长期使用的商标至少赋予了他们对该商标的某些权利,即使他们实际上并未注册该商标。另一些客户则发现,"他们的 "商标实际上是以其供应商/分销商/雇员的名义注册的。

4.了解你的敌人

这一步的重要性远远超出了许多人的认识,因为你向谁提出知识产权索赔,会对你选择如何进行诉讼产生巨大影响。当公司得知有人侵犯知识产权时,他们的第一反应通常是:"让他们住手,起诉这些混蛋,为他们已经做的事情索赔数百万美元,让全世界都知道我们公司不是好惹的。他们这样说的时候,好像这些目标都能完美地结合在一起,并能在几个月内实现。其实不然,也不可能实现。

如果 "盗用 "你知识产权的公司是一家 "夜间经营者",那么起诉该公司以获得数百万美元的赔偿往往毫无意义。通常情况下,起诉一家合法公司也毫无意义,尤其是在你的案件处于边缘的情况下。如果你以一个微不足道的案件起诉这家合法公司,它可能会决定与你决一死战,以向公众表明它没有违反任何知识产权法或侵犯你的知识产权,同时也表明它 "不是一家好惹的公司"。在这种情况下,更多的外交手段可能会更有效。

5.确定最佳法律选择

此时,我们通常已经可以从法律理论(不正当竞争、商标侵权、侵犯版权等)和争议解决方式(诉讼、仲裁、要求函等)两个方面,将大多数法律选项从清单中删除。

6.制定战略

一旦列出了最佳法律选择,就应该制定战略,并在可能的情况下制定后备方案。在许多情况下,战略计划将包括平行行动。在所有情况下,战略计划都包括切合实际的预算。我们的律师总是与客户一起制定战略,这样每个人都能对我们将如何开展工作达成共识。

7.实施

在实施过程中,往往需要引入专家、调查人员、当地知识产权代理机构和/或当地政府。但就其核心而言,实施实际上只是意味着继续执行你制定的战略。

 

阅读更多

知识产权(IP)

What to do When Your IP Has Been Compromised

How to Deal with IP Infringement

Our international intellectual property lawyers are often called upon to help companies whose IP has been compromised or infringed upon. We have formulated the following basic checklist for handling these IP problems, be they international or domestic.

1. Identify the client’s IP problem

This step is sometimes straightforward, but often the information our client is getting from staff/suppliers/distributors is not accurate, due to honest mistakes or self-dealing. For example, high-quality fakes in the market might in fact be “overruns” by an authorized supplier. Counterfeits might in fact be gray market or second-hand goods.

Getting the right information (sometimes with the assistance of professional investigators) is critical when it comes to deciding on next steps.

2. Determine the client’s IP goals 

The client’s goals largely determine the strategy pursued. It is therefore critical to understand what is desired, acceptable, tolerable, and unacceptable.

Take a situation where a factory in China is making counterfeits of three brands’ products. It could be that Brand A is looking for a new supplier, and sees potential in the counterfeiters’ workmanship. Brand A might be amenable to licensing its IP to the factory. On the other hand, Brand B might be adamantly opposed to any compromise, and insist on aggressive action. Brand C might be content working on preventing exports through a China Customs recordation, without too much concern for what happens inside China. In some cases, who the counterfeiter is might impact the path taken (see 4. below).

Needless to say, client goals must be realistic and based on facts (see 1. above).

3. Identify and evaluate the IP at issue 

Without IP, there is no IP claim. This might seem painfully obvious, but we often find ourselves having to tell potential clients that there is no IP to protect where they think there is. For example, some clients from the U.S. and other common law jurisdictions assume that their long-running use of a trademark in a particular country give them at least some rights over that trademark, even if they have not actually registered the trademark. Other clients find out the hard way that “their” trademark is actually registered in their supplier/distributor/employee’s name.

4. Know your enemy

This step is of far greater importance than many people realize, as who you are pursuing with your IP claims can have a tremendous impact on how you choose to proceed. When companies have learned of IP infringement, their initial reaction is usually “let’s make them stop and sue the bastards for millions of dollars for what they have already done and let’s let the world know that we are not a company to be messed with.” And they usually say this as though these goals all fit together perfectly and can be achieved in a few months. They don’t and they can’t.

If the company that “stole” your IP is a “fly by night operator” there often is no point in suing that company for the millions of dollars it does not have. Often there is simply no point in suing a legit company either, particularly where your case is marginal. If you sue the legit company on a marginal case, it may decide it needs to fight you to the death to show the public that it was not violating any IP laws or your IP rights and to also demonstrate that it is “not a company to be messed with.” In these instances, a more diplomatic approach might work better.

5. Determine your best legal options

By this point, we are usually able to cross most legal options off our list, both in terms of legal theories (unfair competition, trademark infringement, copyright violations, etc.) and dispute resolution options (litigation, arbitration, demand letter, etc.).

6. Formulate your strategy

Once you have a list of your best legal options, it is time to put a strategy into place, with fallback options, if possible. In many cases, the strategic plan will include parallel actions. In all cases, it includes a realistic budget. Our lawyers always work with our clients in formulating the strategy so everyone is on the same page in terms of how we will be proceeding.

7. Implementation

Implementation often requires bringing on experts, investigators, local IP agents, and/or local government. But at its core, implementation really just means moving forward to implement your formulated strategy.