保护您的企业免受中美关系恶化的影响

日益恶化的中美关系

美中关系恶化已有多年,但仍在继续恶化,看不到尽头。与中国公司做生意将变得越来越困难。下面我们将概述我们的一些担忧,以及我们的国际律师所看到的企业为应对不稳定的未来而采取的一些措施。

中美关系到底怎么了?

自从美国前总统唐纳德-特朗普于 2018 年对中国进口商品征收关税以来,中美两国的关系持续恶化。如果您阅读过我们的博客或新闻,就会看到无数这样的例子--TikTok 被迫剥离电动汽车关税国会访问台湾

许多问题是系统性的,早于或与特朗普的关税无关,如外国数据的控制知识产权盗窃、中国人口结构的下沉以及中国经济的衰退,当然,这些问题经常被归咎于美国。

的确,似乎每周都有太多的问题让人应接不暇。就在过去的几天里,我们看到美国驻华大使指责中国政府导致中美公民无法进行交流,有报道称美国商务部正在调查一家中国电信公司获取美国数据的问题,还有报道称美国和盟国正在制定战略,对中国的半导体行业施加新的限制。

更糟糕的是,中国与邻国之间的关系似乎变得更糟。

中国及其邻国的未来会怎样?

本周早些时候,一段中国海岸警卫队船只冲撞菲律宾船只的视频浮出水面,中国海岸警卫队人员手持刀具和其他武器。这是南海争议地区长期紧张局势的最新一幕。当然,中国与台湾、印度和其他邻国的问题由来已久。

这些紧张局势不可能很快缓解。事实上,紧张局势会变得更糟。特朗普继续征收关税,拜登总统甚至增加了关税,对中国经济造成了严重损害,以至于中国对美国的进口减少了近20%。

中国失去的大部分进口商品都流向了越南、泰国和印度等邻国。这无助于中国与邻国的关系。

美国很有可能被卷入其中的任何一场冲突。据报道,就在几周前,一名美国海军上将说,如果中国入侵,他想把台湾海峡变成 "无人地狱",并具备 "机密能力"。这些都不是美中关系的好兆头。而美中关系受损对那些在中国做生意或与中国做生意的人来说也不是好兆头。

企业如何保护自己?

如果企业想在情况恶化时将风险降至最低,至少必须了解中美关系。除此之外,企业还可以做很多事情来保护自己。

首先,企业可以而且应该考虑将其生产和其他关系从中国转移到与美国关系更友好的其他国家。我们已经帮助许多企业评估并确保与越南、泰国、印度、墨西哥和拉丁美洲其他国家的关系。这些市场(尤其是拉美国家,它们更不可能卷入中国与其邻国之间的激烈冲突)为寻求长期制造关系的企业提供了更多安全保障。

其次,选择继续与中国制造商合作的企业必须有一个后备计划,以防情况迅速甚至缓慢恶化。后备计划通常是上述第一点,即在其他友好国家建立商业关系。要做到这一点并不容易。我们有很多客户公司需要专门的机器甚至定制的工厂来生产他们的产品,而这些东西并不容易运到海外或重建。这就是为什么第 1 点是需要预先考虑的重要因素。

第三,与中国公司有其他类型商业关系的公司--比方说,利用中国分销商向中国销售产品或向中国公司授权某种知识产权的公司--如果爆发热战或出现其他形式的升级,不太可能出现大规模的业务中断。参见《管理中国分销》:保护自身利益的最佳实践

但这些公司应该明白,它们也面临着很多风险,其中包括:

  • 在中国任意逮捕员工
  • 中国政府强制冻结前往美国的资金或资产
  • 窃取或滥用公司数据

这些只是几个例子,但我们已经多次遇到过。这些风险很多都可以通过一份精心撰写的合同来规避,没有花时间签订合同的公司总有一天会后悔的。

总结

中美关系正在恶化,如果特朗普在 11 月获胜--我在上文甚至都没有讨论到这一点--可能会更加彻底地改变竞争环境。至少,在中国做生意或与中国做生意的企业必须了解这些风险。多样化是关键,但并非总是可行。企业还应寻求通过强有力的合同和探索保险方案来降低风险。

阅读更多

中国业务

Protect Your Business from the Deteriorating US-China Relationship

The Deterioriting US-China Relationship

The US-China relationship has been deteriorating for years, but it continues to worsen with no end in sight. Doing business with Chinese companies is going to become increasingly difficult. Below we outline some of our concerns and some of the steps our international lawyer have seen businesses take to prepare themselves for an unsteady future.

What is happening with the US-China relationship?

Ever since former President Donald Trump imposed tariffs on Chinese imports in 2018, the relationship between the US and China has steadily deteriorated. If you’ve read our blog or the news, you’ve seen countless examples of this—the forced TikTok divestiture, EV tariffs, and congressional visits to Taiwan.

Many problems are systemic and predate or are unrelated to Trump’s tariffs, like control of foreign data, IP theft, China’s sinking demographics, and China’s flailing economy which of course is often blamed on the US.

Indeed, it seems like every week there are too many issues to keep up with. In just the last few days, we’ve seen the US ambassador to China blame the Chinese government for making exchanges between US and Chinese citizens impossible, reports of an investigation of a Chinese telecommunications company by the US Commerce Department regarding access to American data, reports of US and allies strategizing on imposing new restrictions on China’s semiconductor sector.

And to make matters worse, things look like they are getting much worse between China and its neighbors.

What will the future hold for China and its neighbors?

Earlier this week, a video surfaced of a Chinese coast guard vessel ramming into a Philippine vessel, with Chinese coast guard personnel holding knives and other weapons. This is the latest in the long saga of tensions in contested areas of the South China Sea. And of course, China has long had issues with Taiwan, India, and other neighboring countries.

These tensions are not likely to abate anytime soon. In fact, they will get much worse. Trump’s tariffs, left in place and even augmented by President Biden, have dealt serious damage to the Chinese economy, to the point where there are nearly 20 percent fewer Chinese imports to the United States.

Much of the imports China lost have gone to neighboring countries, like Vietnam, Thailand, and India. This is not going to help the relationship between China and its neighbors.

There’s a pretty good chance that the US would be drawn into any of these conflicts. Just a few weeks ago, a US admiral reportedly said he would want to turn the Taiwan Strait into an “unmanned hellscape” with “classified capabilities” if China invades. None of this bodes well for the US-China relationship. And damage to the US China relationship does not bode well for those doing business in or with China.

How can businesses protect themselves?

At a minimum, businesses must understand the US-China relationship if they want to minimize their risks when things get worse. But beyond that, there is actually a lot that businesses can do to protect themselves.

First, businesses can and should consider moving their manufacturing and other relationships out of China to other countries with more friendlier relationships with the United States. We’ve helped many businesses evaluate and secure relationships in countries like Vietnam, Thailand, India, Mexico, and elsewhere in Latin America. These markets (especially in Latin America which is much less likely to be drawn into a hot conflict between China and its neighbors) provide considerably more safety for businesses looking for long-term manufacturing relationships.

Second, businesses that choose to remain working with Chinese manufacturers must have a backup plan should things go bad quickly, or even slowly. That backup plan will often be point 1 above – finding a commercial relationship in some other friendly country. This is not always easy to do. We have plenty of client companies that need specialized machinery or even bespoke factories to make their product, and those are not things that can be easily shipped overseas or rebuilt. That is why point 1 is such an important thing to consider up front.

Third, companies that have other types of commercial relationships with Chinese companies – let’s say, a company that uses a Chinese distributor to sell its products into China or licenses some kind of IP to a Chinese company – is less likely to have a massive disruption in business should a hot war break out or there be some other kind of escalation. See Managing China Distribution: Best Practices for Protecting Your Interests.

But those companies should understand that they too face plenty of risk, including:

  • Arbitrary arrests of employees in China
  • Chinese government-imposed freezing of funds or assets bound for the US
  • Theft or misuse of company data

These are just a few examples, but they are things we have seen come up many times. A lot of these risks can be hedged against in a well-written contract, and companies that don’t take the time to get one will one day wish they had.

Conclusion

The US-China relationship is deteriorating, and a Trump win in November – something I didn’t even discuss above – could even more radically change the playing field. At minimum, Businesses doing business in or with must understand these risks. Diversification is key, but not always feasible. Businesses should also seek to mitigate their risks with strong contracts and by exploring insurance options.

Read More

China Business