乔纳森长椅 合伙人

联系人 Jonathan

关于乔纳森

J

乔纳森是 Harris Sliwoski 公司业务团队的主席,也是公司盐湖城办事处的管理律师,帮助企业家、公司、风险投资和私募股权基金进行国际和国内商业交易。他的客户遍及亚洲、欧洲、中东、非洲和美洲。乔纳森曾在美国、亚洲和南美洲工作并担任顾问,能说流利的中文和广东话。

国家和全球贸易组织经常邀请乔纳森就国际商业交易,特别是中美之间的外国直接投资以及中国市场的替代方案发表演讲。他还是犹他州世界贸易中心(World Trade Center Utah)的董事会成员,并通过各种非营利组织为企业家提供指导。

乔纳森是快速发展和复杂的 web3 生态系统方面的新兴法律专家,包括围绕去中心化自治组织 (DAO)、智能合约、去中心化金融 (defi)、加密货币、硬币和代币(包括不可兑换代币 (NFT))的商业和监管问题。他参与过的区块链项目范围广泛,涉及各种国际 DAO 社区、NFT 艺术家和工作室、第 2 层区块链开发人员、元宇宙公司和名人品牌影响者。

一个上过法学院的商人

乔纳森是屡获殊荣的China Law Blog 的定期撰稿人,在该网站上,他分享了自己在中国以及与中国公司开展业务活动的实用见解。他还经常为我们的 HS 博客和各种法律出版物撰写有关全球商业事务和区块链法律发展的文章。最近,乔纳森被评为 Lexology 的顶级作者。

从销售自家种植的覆盆子到窗户清洗服务,再到非紧急医疗运送服务,乔纳森从内心深处理解创业的艰辛。他将自己描述为上过法学院的商人,而不是学商科的律师。他的客户非常看重他像企业主一样思考问题的能力,因为他在提供务实的法律指导的同时,还能确保他的法律战略能够支持而不是削弱企业的更大战略目标。

业余时间,乔纳森经常与妻子玛丽-安和五个活泼可爱的孩子在一起,探索美丽的犹他州户外,练习武术,学习吉他,并努力让自己的西班牙语和中文一样好。

联系人 Jonathan

概况

教育

  • 乔治华盛顿大学法学院(法学博士)
  • 乔治华盛顿大学商学院(工商管理硕士)
  • 杨百翰大学(文学士)

语言

  • 中文(高级)
  • 粤语(高级)
  • 西班牙语(基础)

律师和法院招生

  • 犹他州律师协会
  • 华盛顿州律师协会
  • 缅因州律师协会

关于乔纳森的更多信息

阅读 更多 更少
阅读 更多 更少
  • 协助美国医疗器械公司通过电子商务进入中国市场。
  • 代表美国酒店业 SAAS 公司将业务拓展至中国。
  • 协助 SAAS 提供商在其新软件产品的实体组建、资本化和服务水平条款方面为银行业的抵押贷款合规性提供帮助。
  • 在与美国著名唱片艺人的合资合作中代表酒精烈酒公司。
  • 谈判并起草一家国际 NFT 风险工作室与一家国际音乐行业美国创作者之间的合作合同。
  • 在拥有 44,000 名用户的 NFT 游戏开发商软件项目中,担任 web3 创始人的外部总法律顾问。
  • 代表美国私募股权投资集团在一个 8000 万美元的收购案中,在六个司法管辖区进行海外尽职调查。
  • 代表国际协议 DAO 创始人,包括在全球多个司法管辖区预先组建实体,供子 DAO 使用。
  • 担任以色列领导的医疗保健和技术数字资产(区块链)风险投资基金的总法律顾问。
  • 协助创始人进行 web3 风险投资,将传统艺术品转化为 NFT,并与苏富比拍卖行合作拍卖 NFT。
  • 谈判并起草 NFT 风险工作室与国际音乐产业创作者之间的合作合同。
  • 代表一名少数投资者加入一家著名国家运动队的所有权集团。
  • 协助日资直销公司进入中国市场。
  • 代表俄罗斯直销公司进入美国市场。
  • 在超过 35 亿美元的跨境 PPE(个人防护设备)交易中代表买方和卖方集团。
  • 代表 5000 万美元国际风险投资基金进行大麻房地产担保债务投资。
  • 代表加拿大上市公司对美国多州大麻业务进行 1 亿美元的外国直接投资。
  • 代表中国上市公司以 300 万美元收购美国科技公司。
  • 代表澳大利亚航空 MRO 公司与欧洲供应商和客户签订国际合同。
  • 为多家美国公司的中国代表处提供有关中国雇佣事务的咨询服务。
  • 代表许多美国发行人根据 D 法规发行私募股权和债务证券,包括涉及国际投资者的发行。
  • 在与台湾企业的合资谈判中代表美国制造商。
  • 在合伙纠纷中代表台资果园合伙人。
  • 为埃塞俄比亚支持的美国咖啡进口公司提供投资者关系顾问服务。
  • 代表美国无人机软件公司处理与欧洲进口相关的出口管制和许可问题。
阅读 更多 更少
  • 伯克利法律与技术中心中国知识产权法证书

客户对乔纳森的评价

Harris Sliwoski 一直是我们在法律行业的第一联系人。Jonathan Bench 和 Fred Rocafort 总是能够回答问题并解决问题,他们是国际商业交易和知识产权法方面的真正专家。他们为我们公司制定了明智、高效的战略,取得了巨大的成果。我会毫不犹豫地向任何从事国际业务的人推荐这家律师事务所。

- 帝国管理解决方案有限责任公司产品和采购副总裁 Rian Berry

Jonathan Bench 在我们制定复杂的投资策略时提供了巨大的帮助。他每一步都在我们身边,并清楚地解释了我们接下来的步骤。在谈判执行时间如此短的情况下,我们感到我们的利益得到了一流律师的代表。如果将来我们再遇到任何法律问题,我们一定会联系他和 Harris Sliwoski 的团队。

- 迪雅克控股公司

在我们公司确定与中国潜在商业伙伴接触的最佳架构过程中,乔纳森提供了巨大的帮助。他花时间了解了我们的目标和优先事项,并清楚地解释了我们下一步应该采取的措施,这对于第一次考虑在中国开展业务的人来说并非易事。在乔纳森的帮助下,我们达成了一项合作了一年多的商业协议。今后,如果在中国遇到任何法律问题,我们一定会联系乔纳森。

- Jeff Glenzer,执行副总裁兼首席运营官 | 金融专业人士协会

这家律师事务所给我留下了深刻印象!Jonathan Bench 回答了我所有关于国际贸易和国际合同的问题,并就如何构建业务关系为我的公司带来最大利益提供了更多有益的意见。Harris Sliwoski 还为我联系了其他高质量的专业人士,以满足我的业务需求。我在 Harris Sliwoski 工作过的每个人都是各自领域的专家,我在最初的法律代理过程中都得到了他们的悉心照顾。在我目前的国际项目组合方面,我也非常信任他们。

- Acor 食品公司

在我们公司开发新业务渠道的过程中,Jonathan Bench 帮了我们大忙。他回答了我们关于实体组建和公司合同的所有问题。Harris Sliwoski 及时帮助我们解决了各种法律问题,同时在整个过程中始终与我们保持清晰的沟通。他们还根据我的业务需求为我们介绍了其他高素质的人才。我们在 Harris Sliwoski 工作过的每个人都是各自领域的专家;我们在整个法律代理过程中都得到了很好的帮助。

- eQcho Capital LLC 管理合伙人罗伯特-克尔和常务董事邓肯-莫顿

Harris Sliwoski 专业地指导我们组建公司。他们继续协助我们进行必要的注册并遵守众多法规。他们能够及时回答我们提出的所有问题,并提供易于理解的选择、解释和实用建议。随着公司规模的扩大,我们希望能继续定期使用 Harris Sliwoski 的服务。他们还能为我们介绍其他专业专家。我们会毫不犹豫地向任何需要法律咨询的公司推荐 Harris Sliwoski。

- 三大陆食品有限责任公司

非常专业、友好、快捷。我的公司自 2020 年 11 月以来一直使用 Harris Sliwoski 的服务,在可预见的未来,我们将继续使用他们的服务。我会向朋友和家人推荐他们。

- Haven Barlow | The Argonaut Trading Company LLC

应对挑战性法律问题的久经考验的专业知识

查找乔纳森最近在...

KSL 电台

中国经济下滑

乔纳森-本奇在 KSL 新闻广播节目中

"大多数人都认为中国经济会在科维德事件后反弹,但结果却基本停滞不前。犹他州与中国有着稳固的业务关系,但制造商仍在寻找近岸外包的选择。而为了中国市场而留在中国的公司则在努力探索如何加深与中国的接触,同时感叹他们之前与中国政府的接触并不像以前那样有帮助。

更多信息
阅读文章
Hackernoon 徽标。

美国证券交易委员会诉瑞波公司对 Web 3 律师乔纳森-本奇的独家专访

黑客午后的乔纳森-班奇

最近,我与 Harris Bricken 律师和 web3 法律专家乔纳森-本奇(Jonathan Bench)就备受争议的美国证券交易委员会诉瑞波公司案进行了讨论。(为方便读者,本访谈有删节)

更多信息
阅读文章
大纪元时报徽标。

印度航空公司购买 200 架波音飞机将为美国创造超过一百万个就业机会:拜登

大纪元时报》的乔纳森-班奇

国际商业法专家乔纳森-本奇(Jonathan Bench)告诉《大纪元时报》,这笔交易表明,满足增长需求是印度政府最关心的问题。

"Bench 说:"显然,印度政府的首要任务是继续提供全面的基础设施,以支持其未来十年的爆炸式增长。

目前的交易具有明显的地缘政治影响。Bench 说,亚洲观察家们将继续研究印度与美国、俄罗斯和中国在几个方面的紧密关系。

"从地缘政治的角度来看,印度在短期内确实离不开这些国家中的任何一个。目前还不清楚印度愿意在多大程度上远离俄罗斯的能源和武器以及中国的制造业。

更多信息
阅读文章
大纪元时报徽标。

随着习近平获得第三个任期,中共将继续以西方为代价颠覆国际规则:专家

大纪元时报》的乔纳森-班奇

China Law Blog 的定期撰稿人、Harris Sliwoski 律师事务所企业业务组主席 Jonathan Bench 律师告诉《大纪元时报》,习近平谈论中国向世界扩大开放,是在表明,尽管中国在努力促进国内消费,但如果不与世界其他国家接触,中国就无法生存。

"本奇说:"就美国及其盟国而言,这意味着要应对正面竞争并做出有限的让步,就像中国最终默许PCAOB(美国公众公司会计监督委员会)检查员对在美国交易所上市的中国上市公司的账簿进行审计那样。

Bench 认为,在与盟国或夹在中美之间的国家打交道时,中国政权将继续 "谈判和恐吓"--这样做将确保其国内安全,这在目前主要意味着能源安全。

更多信息
阅读文章
Property Casualty 360 徽标。

直言不讳:关于大麻企业商业汽车风险的推特聊天

财产保险360中的Jonathan Bench

" Harris Sliwoski 公司的 Jonathan Bench 说:"这一领域缺乏判例法,这就是风险的定义,没有 保险公司 愿意第一个试水。

更多信息
阅读文章
保险新闻网徽标。

是时候进行大麻投资了?

保险新闻网的Jonathan Bench

"Harris Sliwoski 律师乔纳森-本奇(Jonathan Bench)发文称:"这对所有类型的大麻公司都很重要,尤其是那些希望在证券发行中利用现有联邦豁免权的公司。

更多信息
阅读文章
国家保险商财产与意外险》徽标。

绿色屏幕

乔纳森-本茨在《国家承保人财产和意外事故》杂志上发表文章

大麻行业的保险是一门大生意。企业主需要了解有哪些保险以及这些保险的覆盖范围。

更多信息
阅读文章
华尔街日报

中国已为 CBD 做好准备。但监管机构可能还没准备好。

华尔街日报》播客中的乔纳森-本茨

杰克-霍夫(Jack Hough)与国际律师乔纳森-本奇(Jonathan Bench)讨论中国和《生物多样性公约》。

更多信息
阅读文章

Jonathan Bench Partner

Contact Jonathan

About Jonathan

JJonathan is a Partner and Chair of the Corporate Practice Group at Harris Sliwoski, based in the firm’s Salt Lake City office. He focuses his practice on both international and domestic business transactions, assisting entrepreneurs, companies, and financial institutions, including venture capital and private equity funds. His global clientele spans Asia, Europe, the Middle East, Africa, and the Americas. Jonathan has worked and consulted in the U.S., Asia, and South America, and he is fluent in Chinese and Cantonese, and getting fluent in Spanish.

He is a sought-after speaker for national and global trade and legal organizations, particularly on topics related to foreign direct investment between the U.S. and China, and strategies like friendshoring or nearshoring as alternatives to the China market.

Jonathan serves on the board of directors for World Trade Center Utah and dedicates time to mentoring entrepreneurs through various nonprofit organizations.

His blockchain experience encompasses collaborations with international DAO communities, NFT artists and studios, layer-2 blockchain developers, metaverse companies, and celebrity brand influencers. Additionally, Jonathan represents AI entrepreneurs who are developing tools and communities focused on AI applications.

Jonathan is also recognized as a legal expert in the fast-moving and complex emerging technologies ecosystem, including business and regulatory issues surrounding artificial intelligence (AI) and various web3 components: decentralized autonomous organizations (DAOs), smart contracts, decentralized finance (DeFi), cryptocurrencies, coins, and tokens, including non-fungible tokens (NFTs). His blockchain experience encompasses collaborations with international DAO communities, NFT artists and studios, layer-2 blockchain developers, metaverse companies, and celebrity brand influencers. Jonathan also represents AI entrepreneurs who are developing tools and communities focused on AI applications.

A Businessperson Who Went To Law School

Jonathan is a regular contributor to the award-winning China Law Blog, sharing his practical insights on navigating business activities in China and with Chinese companies. He also frequently writes for the HS Blog and various legal publications, discussing global business matters, blockchain, and AI legal developments. His contributions have earned him recognition as a top author on Lexology and accolades from various industry groups as an elite lawyer.

Most recently, Jonathan was named to Utah’s Legal Elite 100 and described him as “an excellent attorney but also a thought leader in two very different industries: international business and blockchain.”

From selling homegrown raspberries to window washing services to non-emergency medical transportation services, Jonathan understands the entrepreneurial grind from the inside. He describes himself as a businessperson who went to law school rather than a lawyer who studied business. His clients value his ability to think like a business owner as he provides them with pragmatic legal guidance while ensuring that his legal strategies underpin, not undermine, his client’s larger strategic goals.

In his spare time, Jonathan is often with his wife Mary Ann and their five lively children, exploring the beautiful Utah outdoors, practicing martial arts, learning guitar, and working on getting his Spanish to be as good as his Chinese.

Contact Jonathan

Fast Facts

Education

  • The George Washington University Law School (J.D.)
  • The George Washington University School of Business (M.B.A.)
  • Brigham Young University (B.A.)

Languages

  • Chinese
  • Cantonese
  • Spanish

Bar & Court Admissions

  • Utah State Bar Association
  • Washington State Bar Association

More About Jonathan

Read More Less
Read More Less
  • Assisted U.S. medical device company in entering China market via ecommerce.
  • Represented U.S. SAAS company in hotel industry to expand operations into China.
  • Assisted SAAS provider in entity formation, capitalization, and service level terms in its new software product for mortgage compliance in the banking industry.
  • Represented alcoholic spirits company in joint venture collaboration with prominent U.S. recording artist.
  • Negotiated and drafted collaborative contracts between an international NFT venture studio and a U.S. creator in the international music industry.
  • Acted as general outside counsel for web3 founder in NFT gaming developer software project with 44,000 users.
  • Represented U.S. private equity group in foreign due diligence across six jurisdictions in an $80MM acquisition.
  • Represented international protocol DAO founders, including pre-forming entities in numerous global jurisdictions for sub-DAO use.
  • Acted as general counsel to Israeli-led healthcare and technology digital asset (blockchain) venture capital fund.
  • Assisted founders in web3 venture involving translating traditional artwork into NFTs and auctioning NFTs with Sotheby’s Auction House.
  • Negotiated and drafted collaborative contracts between an NFT venture studio and a creator in the international music industry.
  • Represented a minority investor in joining ownership group of a prominent national sports team.
  • Assisted Japanese owned direct sales company in entering the Chinese market.
  • Represented Russian owned direct sales company in entering the U.S. market.
  • Represented buyer and seller groups in cross-border PPE (personal protective equipment) transactions exceeding $3.5 billion.
  • Represented $50MM international venture capital fund on secured debt investment in cannabis real estate.
  • Represented public Canadian company in $100MM foreign direct investment in U.S. multi-state cannabis operations.
  • Represented public Chinese company in $3MM acquisition of U.S. technology company.
  • Represented Australian-owned aviation MRO company in international contracting with European suppliers and customers.
  • Counseled multiple U.S. companies with China employment matters in Chinese representative offices.
  • Represented many U.S. issuers in private equity and debt securities issuances under Reg D, including those involving international investors.
  • Represented U.S. manufacturer in joint venture negotiations with Taiwanese corporation.
  • Represented Taiwanese-owned fruit orchard partners in partnership dispute.
  • Counseled Ethiopian-backed U.S. coffee import company with investor relations.
  • Represented U.S. drone software company in export control and licensing issues relating to European imports.
Read More Less
  • 2024 Legal Elite 100, Utah Business (Corporate and International Law)
  • Legal Elite, Utah Business, 2022 (International Law)
  • Rising Star, Super Lawyers, 2021-2022 (International Law)
  • Rising Star, Super Lawyers, 2015-2018 (Corporate Law)
  • Certificate in Chinese IP Law, Berkeley Center for Law & Technology

What clients have to say about Jonathan

Harris Sliwoski has been our first call in the legal industry for a long time now. Jonathan Bench and Fred Rocafort are always able to answer questions and resolve issues and are real experts in international business transactions and intellectual property law. They have developed smart and efficient strategies for our company that have brought great results. I would not hesitate to recommend this law firm to anyone doing international business.

– Rian Berry, Vice President of Product and Sourcing | Empire Managed Solutions LLC

Jonathan Bench was a huge help as we went through a complex investment strategy. He was there every step of the way and clearly explained what our next steps would be. We felt our interests represented by a best-in-class attorney when negotiations had such a short time frame for execution. We will be sure to reach out to him and the team at Harris Sliwoski if we ever have any more legal issues in the future.

– Diarq Holdings

Jonathan was a huge help as our company went through the process of determining the best structure for engaging with prospective business partners in China. He took the time to understand our objectives and priorities and clearly explained what our next steps should be, which is not easy when you’re considering doing business in China for the first time. With Jonathan’s help, we were able to reach agreement on a business deal that we had been working on for over a year. We will be sure to reach out to Jonathan on any legal issues we encounter in China in the future.

– Jeff Glenzer, Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer | Association for Financial Professionals

I am impressed with this law firm! Jonathan Bench answered all my questions regarding international trade and international contracting and had additional helpful input about how to structure my business relationships to be most beneficial to my company. Harris Sliwoski also has connected me with other quality professionals for my business needs. Everyone I worked with at Harris Sliwoski is an expert in their field, and I was in good hands throughout my initial legal representation. And I trust them with my current portfolio of international projects.

– Acor Foods

Jonathan Bench was a huge help as our company went through the process of developing new business channels. He answered all our questions regarding entity formation and corporate contracts. Harris Sliwoski has helped us with a variety of legal issues in a timely fashion, while always clearly communicating with us throughout the process. They also redirected us to other quality people for my business needs. Everyone we worked with at Harris Sliwoski is an expert in their field; we were in good hands throughout our legal representation.”

– Robert Kerr, Managing Partner and Duncan Morton, Managing Director | eQcho Capital LLC

Harris Sliwoski expertly guided us through the formation of our company.  They continue to assist with necessary registrations and compliance with numerous regulations.  They were able to promptly answer all our many questions and provide understandable options, explanations and practical advice.   We expect to continue to use Harris Sliwoski on a regular basis as our company expands.  They were also able to introduce us other professional experts.  We would not hesitate to recommend Harris Sliwoski to any companies in need of legal advice.

– Three Continents Foods LLC

Extremely professional, friendly, and fast. My company has retained Harris Sliwoski since November 2020 and we will continue to use their services for the foreseeable future. I would recommend them to friends and family.

– Haven Barlow | The Argonaut Trading Company LLC

Proven Expertise for Challenging Legal Issues

Find Jonathan Recently Featured In...

KSL Radio

China Economy Drop

Jonathan Bench on KSL News Radio

“Most people thought China’s economy would rebound post-Covid, but it has largely stagnated. Utah has a solid business relationship with China, but manufacturers continue to look for nearshoring options. And companies staying in China for the China market are trying to figure out how to deepen their engagement while lamenting the fact that their prior engagement with the government is not as helpful as it used to be.”

More
Read Article
Hackernoon logo.

SEC v Ripple: Exclusive Interview With Web 3 Attorney, Jonathan Bench

Jonathan Bench in Hackernoon

I recently sat down with Harris Bricken Attorney and web3 legal expert, Jonathan Bench, for a discussion about the controversial SEC V Ripple case. (This interview has been abridged for the ease of the readers)

More
Read Article
The Epoch Times logo.

Air India’s Purchase of 200 Boeing Aircraft Will Create Over a Million US Jobs: Biden

Jonathan Bench in The Epoch Times

International business law expert Jonathan Bench told The Epoch Times the deal signals that meeting its growth needs is the Indian government’s primary concern.

“Clearly the Indian government’s number one priority is continuing to provide comprehensive infrastructure to support its explosive growth in the coming decade,” said Bench.

The current deal has obvious geo-political ramifications. Bench said Asia watchers will continue to study how closely India aligns with the United States, Russia, and China on several fronts.

“From a geo-political standpoint, India cannot really afford to do without any of these countries in the near-term. It is not yet clear how much India will be willing to distance itself from Russian energy and weapons and Chinese manufacturing,” said Bench.

More
Read Article
The Epoch Times logo.

As Xi Secures Third Term, CCP Will Continue to Subvert International Rules at West’s Expense: Experts

Jonathan Bench in The Epoch Times

Attorney Jonathan Bench, a regular contributor to China Law Blog and the chair of Harris Sliwoski’s corporate practice group, told the Epoch Times that by talking about China opening wider to the world,  Xi is signaling that PRC can’t exist without engaging with the rest of the world despite it trying to boost it’s domestic consumption.

“Looking at the U.S. and its allies, that means dealing with head-to-head competition and making limited concessions, as China did in finally acquiescing to the PCAOB (the U.S. Public Company Accounting Oversight Board) inspectors auditing the books of public Chinese companies listed on U.S. exchanges,” said Bench, referring to the United States’ insistence on getting U.S.-listed Chinese companies to comply with American auditing requirements, which the firms were previously excused from.

The Chinese regime will continue to “negotiate and intimidate” while it deals with its allied countries or those saddled between the United States and China—doing this will ensure its domestic security, which largely means energy security at this point in time, according to Bench.

More
Read Article
Property Casualty 360 logo.

Blunt talk: A Twitter chat on commercial auto risks for cannabis businesses

Jonathan Bench in Property Casualty 360

The lack of case law in this space is the definition of risk, and no insurers want to be the first to test the waters,” said Jonathan Bench of Harris Sliwoski.

More
Read Article
Insurance News Net logo.

Time To Get High On Marijuana Investing?

Jonathan Bench in Insurances News Net

“This matters to cannabis companies of all types, especially those that want to utilize the available federal exemptions in their securities offerings,” according to a post from Jonathan Bench, Harris Sliwoski attorney.

More
Read Article
National Underwriter Property & Casualty logo.

Green Screen

Jonathan Bench in National Underwriter Property & Casualty

Insurance in the cannabis industry is big business. Business owners need to know what policies are available and what those policies cover.

More
Read Article
wall street journal

China is Ready for CBD. But Regulators Might Not Be.

Jonathan Bench in the Wall Street Journal Podcast

Jack Hough discusses China and CBD with international attorney Jonathan Bench.

More
Read Article