New York’s Home Cultivation Regulations

As part of New York’s Cannabis Control Board (CCB) meeting on September 20, 2022, the CCB passed a resolution to permit the Office of Cannabis Management (OCM) to adopt revised regulations for home cannabis cultivation. To be clear, pursuant to the Marijuana Regulation and Taxation Act (MRTA), home cannabis cultivation is currently limited to medical cannabis.

Here’s our breakdown of the now-approved regulations. Generally speaking, these regulations are similar to what we’ve seen in other states that allow medical and homegrown cannabis

Who Can Cultivate Cannabis at Home?

Home cultivation is limited to:

  • Certified patients who are 21 years old or older, but only for personal use; and
  • Designated caregivers who are 21 years old or older, but only for certified patients who are either younger than 21 or physically unable to cultivate cannabis themselves. The regulations note that patients can only have one designated caregiver grow on their behalf.

Where can “Home Cultivated” cannabis be grown?

Only at the authorized person’s private residence.

How many plants can be grown at home?

  • Certified patients can grow up to three (3) mature plants and three (3) immature plants at any one time.
  • Designated caregivers can grow up to six (6) mature plants and six (6) immature plants at any one time.

Can home cultivated cannabis be sold?

No. But a certified patient or designated caregiver can transfer to another certified patient or designated caregiver, without compensation, up to three ounces of cannabis and up to 24 ounces of concentrated cannabis.

How does home cultivated cannabis need to be stored?

In a secure location within a private residence or its ground, with reasonable measures such that the cannabis is not readily accessible by anyone under the age of 21. The enumerated reasonable measures:

  • Conducting cannabis cultivation in an enclosed area not plainly visible from public view; and
  • Locking and storing cannabis in a manner that prevents theft, loss or access.

Can a designated caregiver receive any compensation from certified patients?

Only reimbursement for the designated caregivers actual costs of goods, material or utilities for which they have incurred expenses directly related to the cultivation of cannabis for the certified patient.


This is just a high level summary of the home cultivation regulations. For any certified patients or designated caregivers interested in home cultivation, reach out to us directly here: