欠项

大麻并购:防范未披露责任

当有人购买了一家大麻企业,而不仅仅是该企业的资产时,他们基本上继承了其所有的负债。而且通常会有很多。如果企业正在打官司、欠税、拖欠租金等,买方将需要自行处理这些问题,除非

密苏里州大麻社会公平

密苏里州吊销九张社会公平许可证

随着成人使用大麻合法化席卷全国,美国面临以前严厉的大麻政策的代价,纠正卑鄙错误的最佳尝试之一是州大麻行业内的社会公平计划。不幸的是,社会公平计划很容易被利用和“漏洞”。许可证具有

放大镜聚焦在一份标题为 "大麻合同 "的文件上,背景是当局的大麻叶标志。

大麻合同 101:权限及其重要性

从最简单的意义上讲,大麻合同是双方之间具有约束力的协议。但是,如何才能使某项协议具有 "约束力 "可能很复杂。而在大麻行业,事情发展一日千里,人们往往忽视了基本的合同要求,结果可能是灾难性的。今天,我想重点谈谈

大麻行业

加州大麻产业的难题和未来之路

尽管加利福尼亚州的娱乐用大麻零售总额持续超过其他所有州,但该州的大麻产业在多个层面上面临着持续且影响深远的问题,而这些问题只会进一步蔓延。从销售额下降导致零售总额减少数亿美元,到大规模的非法市场,加利福尼亚州的大麻产业在多个层面都面临着持续且影响深远的问题。

华盛顿州大麻

华盛顿州可能提高购买高 THC 大麻的最低年龄

华盛顿州众议院第 2320 号法案 华盛顿州经常引领大麻政策的进步。然而,华盛顿州立法机构提出的众议院第 2320 号法案可能标志着这一轨迹的关键转变。这项由两党共同提出的法案建议将购买和消费大麻含量达到或超过 35% 的产品的最低年龄提高到 25 岁。

thca

关于 THCA、州际销售.... 和俄勒冈州的想法

公司的朋友安德鲁-德韦斯(Andrew DeWeese)前几天在 LinkedIn 上发表了一篇关于俄勒冈州在 THCA 问题上的立场以及当地行业倡导者的优先事项的文章。我想强调一下这篇文章,并在今天进行讨论--这是一篇引人注目的文章,我对此有各种想法。就在这里:我们来分析一下

大麻并购

大麻并购:加州会允许许可证转让吗?

与其他州相比,加州的大麻并购(简称并购)要复杂得多,问题也多得多。其中最大的原因是许可证不可转让,这几乎排除了资产出售的可能性。反过来,这意味着交易对买卖双方来说都要复杂得多,而且

关闭公司

加州封闭公司是怎么回事?

我们在Canna Law Blog 上花费了大量笔墨讨论大麻企业家经常使用的不同类型的商业实体。但在大多数情况下,选择有限责任公司(LLC)还是股份有限公司(Corporation)。有些读者可能会感到惊讶,一些州有许多不同的公司子类别,包括加利福尼亚州。今天

liabilities

Cannabis M&A: Protecting Against Undisclosed Liabilities

When someone buys a cannabis business, and not just that business’s assets, they essentially inherit all of its liabilities. And there are usually a lot. If the business is in the midst of a lawsuit, owes back taxes, is behind on rent, etc., the buyer will need to deal with those problems on its own–unless

marijuana social equity

California Awards $12 Million In Local Cannabis Equity Grants To Repair Drug War Harms

California’s path to cannabis social equity: from arrests to advocacy Data from the California Department of Justice reveals that nearly half a million individuals were arrested on cannabis charges in the state between 2006 and 2015. Even after Governor Schwarzenegger authorized a statewide decriminalization program in 2010, thousands continued to face serious misdemeanor charges related

missouri cannabis social equity

Missouri Revokes Nine Social Equity Licenses

The need for social equity in cannabis programs As adult-use cannabis legalization sweeps across the country and America confronts the toll of previous, draconian cannabis policies, one of the best attempts to right abject wrongs is social equity programs within state cannabis industries. Unfortunately though, social equity programs are easily exploited and “loopholed.” Licenses have

Magnifying glass focusing on a document titled "cannabis contract" with an authority's cannabis leaf symbol in the background.

Cannabis Contracts 101: Authority and Why it Matters

Cannabis contracts are – in the simplest sense – binding agreements between two parties. But how you get to something being “binding” can be complicated. And in the cannabis industry, where things move a mile a second and people often overlook basic contract requirements, the results can be disastrous. Today I want to focus on

cannabis industry

California’s Cannabis Industry Conundrum and the Road Ahead

Despite continuously surpassing every other state with recreational cannabis in terms of total retail sales, California’s cannabis industry has faced continuous and far-reaching issues on multiple levels that have only spread even further. From declining sales that result in hundreds of millions less in total retail sales to a massive illicit market that the state

washington cannabis

Washington May Raise the Minimum Age for High THC Cannabis Purchases

Washington House Bill 2320 Washington State has often led the way in progressive cannabis policies. However, the introduction of House Bill 2320 by the Washington State legislature could mark a pivotal shift in this trajectory. This bipartisan bill proposes to raise the minimum age to 25 years for purchasing and consuming products containing 35% or

thca

Thoughts on THCA, Interstate Sales…. and Oregon

Friend of the firm Andrew DeWeese published a recent LinkedIn post on Oregon’s outlying stance on THCA the other day, and the priorities of local industry advocates. I wanted to highlight that post and discuss today– it’s a compelling post and I have all sorts of thoughts about it. Here it is: Let’s break it

cannabis M&A

Cannabis M&A: Will California Allow License Transfers?

Cannabis M&A (short for mergers and acquisitions) in California is much more complicated and problematic than in other states. The biggest reason for this is that licenses are not transferrable, which all but eliminates the possibility of asset sales. In turn, this means that deals are much more complicated for both buyer and seller, and

close corporation

What is the Deal with California Close Corporations?

We spill a lot of ink on the Canna Law Blog talking about different types of business entities that cannabis entrepreneurs often use. In most cases though, the choice is between LLC and corporation. It may come as a surprise to some readers that some states have many different subcategories of corporations, including California. Today